Grey’s Anatomy’s Renewal For Season 21 Makes It the Longest-Running Prime-Time Medical Drama

Grey’s Anatomy is set to return to to prime-time television on ABC after being renewed for Season 21. The hit medical drama, which first began airing in 2005, was created by producer/screenwriter Shonda Rimes. Season 20 began airing in March, and only consists of 10 episodes because of the SAG-AFTRA and WGA strikes. However, the upcoming season is slated to have a total of 18 episodes. The cast for Season 21 has yet to be announced. Ellen Pompeo (Dr. Meredith Grey), who is one of the original cast members, exited the show before Season 20 but still appears in 4 episodes. The current stars include original castmates Chandra Wilson (Dr. Miranda Bailey) and James Pickens, Jr. (Dr. Richard Webber), along with Kevin McKidd (Dr. Owen Hunt), Kim Raver (Dr. Teddy Altman), Camilla Luddington (Dr. Jo Wilson), Caterina Scorsone (Dr. Amelia Shepherd), Anthony Hill (Dr. Winston Ndugu), and Alexis Floyd (Dr. Simone Griffith).