The Hollywood Walk of Fame

The Hollywood Walk of Fame is a historic landmark that consists of more than 2,752 5-pointed terrazzo and brass stars embedded in the sidewalks along 15 blocks of Hollywood Boulevard and three blocks of Vine Street. The stars are permanent public monuments to achievement in the entertainment industry, bearing the names of a mix of actors, directors, producers, musicians, theatrical/musical groups, and fictional characters. Each year, an average of 200 nominations are submitted to the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce Walk of Fame selection committee. Nominees must have a minimum of 5 years experience in their category, and posthumous nominees must have been deceased at least 5 years. At a meeting in June, approximately 20-24 celebrities are selected to receive stars on the Walk of Fame. A fee of $75,000, payable at the time of selection, is collected to pay for the creation and installation of the star, as well as for general maintenance of the Walk of Fame. Gene Autry is the only celebrity with stars in all 5 categories. Cher forfeited her opportunity to join the list by declining to schedule a mandatory personal appearance when she was selected in 1983. Fictional characters with stars on the Walk of Fame include Mickey Mouse, Godzilla, Lassie, Shrek, Snow White, and the Rugrats. As you might imagine, there is the occasional error. For example, in 2010 Julia Louis-Drrefus’s star was constructed without the dash in her last name, but was quickly corrected. Dick Van Dyke’s star in 1993 appeared with his last name written as one word, but that, too, was corrected.