Drivers in Arizona Express Concern That Driver’s Licenses There Don’t Expire For Decades

It’s a law that’s unique to Arizona — once you get your first driver’s license, you don’t have to renew it again until you turn 65, and after that it only has to be renewed every 5 years. That doesn’t mean you can skip the DMV. You still have to update your license photo every 12 years. However, even if you don’t update your photo, your driver’s license remains valid. You might think that this state law would make everybody happy, but it doesn’t. Many people say the law should be changed for safety reasons, pointing out that as we age there are things we need to check up on, like visual acuity, cognition skills, and reaction time. Will the law change? According to the Arizona Department of Transportation, that’s not likely to happen.