How To Get “Classic Facebook” Back


Facebook introduced a new design to its 2.7 billion social media users back in March, giving people the opportunity to try it out or revert back to the classic look temporarily. The reason for the new design is Facebook’s desire to have less “likes” and more engagement from its users. Quite simply, Facebook is now just plain old confusing. If the recent overhaul of Facebook’s new design is giving you a headache, don’t worry. You can still manually revert back to the old design, but you’ll want to use this trick as soon as possible. Click in the top right-hand corner of the screen, where you should find a small down-facing arrow icon. Included in the drop-down menu is a link to “Switch to Classic Facebook.” Click on that and you should immediately be transported back to the original look. Unfortunately, that will only give you another 48 hours of classic bliss before you’re switched back to the new and ugly design. There will come a time when the option to switch back will no longer be available, but there’s still another way around it. The browser extension FB Purity will let you switch back to the old design permanently. FB Purity is available for Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Brave, Opera, and Safari (using Tampermonkey) on the FB Purity website (click here).