.post ul li { list-style: square; }

Non-Dairy Vs. Dairy-Free

Think dairy-free and non-dairy mean the same thing? Think again. In today’s world, lactose intolerance is common. In fact, about 65% of people have a lowered ability to digest lactose after their infant years. That means that milk and dairy allergies are fairly prevalent. That’s why it’s important to understand the difference between products that are diary-free and those that are non-dairy. Non-dairy products can still have milk protein like casein and whey in them, which can cause allergic reactions. Check out the ingredients, and if you see the words “sodium caseinate” in the list, the product is made with milk. Diary-free is supposed to mean that the product carries no dairy of any kind. However, because of loose FDA regulations, that’s not always the case. That’s why it’s crucial to read the ingredients. Often, you will see that the product actually does contain milk, or that it contains milk protein. So, in the end, it all boils down to reading the labels to find out exactly what you’re getting.